Public Works

Minnetonka Public Works strives to continually maintain and improve the city of Minnetonka’s streets, parks, natural resources and water and sewer services through collaborative partnerships. Public Works is responsible for maintaining the city’s infrastructure through seven divisions: natural resources and forestry, garbage and recycling, parks and trails, water and sewer utilities, streets, buildings, and fleet. Public Works employs 60 full-time staff and 26 seasonal part-time staff.

Divisions

Natural Resources

This division is responsible for the city’s reforestation and diseased tree removal programs, as well as water resources.

This division also manages the Natural Resources Stewardship Program to control non-native species such as buckthorn and purple loosestrife. This program restores native plant diversity to the city’s parks–in the past six years, more than 150 acres of woods, prairies and wetlands have been restored.

Contacts

Jo Colleran
Natural Resources Manager
jcolleran@eminnetonka.com

952-988-8415

Emily Ball
City Forester
eball@eminnetonka.com

952-988-8421

Hannibal Hayes
Forestry Technician
hhayes@eminnetonka.com

952-988-8436

Aaron Schwartz
Natural Resource Specialist
aschwartz@eminnetonka.com

952-988-8422

Janet Van Sloun
Natural Resources Restoration Specialist
jvansloun@eminnetonka.com

952-988-8423

Christine Petersen
Natural Resources Administrative Assistant
cpetersen@eminnetonka.com

952-988-8407

Parks, Trails and Recycling

This division is responsible for the maintenance of five community parks and 37 neighborhood parks, as well as the city’s 68-mile trail system and 27 miles of sidewalk. The parks and trails division provides site support for the Minnetonka-Hopkins Recreation Program and various athletic groups, and maintains turf at 111 sites as well as 17 ball fields.

This division also manages the Parks Renewal program, a five-year program designed to restore and renew all of the cities parks.

This division also handles recycling services for the city of Minnetonka.

Contacts

Trail Questions
7 a.m.–3:30 p.m.

952-988-8400

Darin Ellingson
Public Works Operations Manager
dellingson@eminnetonka.com

952-988-8414

Todd Kasowski
Parks and Trails Field Supervisor
tkasowski@eminnetonka.com

952-988-8424

Streets

Contacts

Darin Ellingson
Public Works Operations Manager
dellingson@eminnetonka.com

952-988-8414

Steve Malecha
Street Maintenance Field Supervisor
smalecha@eminnetonka.com

952-988-8413

Water and Utilities

This division manages the city’s water pumping and distribution system, comprised of 16 deep wells, eight treatment plants and 260 miles of distribution piping. Storage totals 12-plus million gallons at nine locations. Annually, the city delivers 3.2 billion gallons of water with an average daily consumption of eight million gallons.

The water and sewer division also is responsible for the operation and maintenance of the city’s 260-mile sanitary sewer collection system. Each year, 90 to 110 miles of sewer line are cleaned and 20 miles of pipe are televised for inspection and repair purposes. The system contains 38 sanitary and storm water lift stations and 49 individual house pumps maintained by sewer division staff.

The water and sewer division also maintains 371 street lights and ten civil defense sirens.

Contacts

Jim Malone
Utility and Fleet Maintenance Manager
jmalone@eminnetonka.com

952-988-8410

Donna Gause
Water and Sewer Account Technician
dgause@eminnetonka.com

952-988-8404

Tom Pletcher
Water and Sewer Utilities Field Supervisor
tpletcher@eminnetonka.com

952-988-8427

Buildings

Residents and visitors use city facilities to attend meetings, enjoy the outdoors, conduct business or participate in government. The building maintenance division is responsible for maintaining these facilities in a safe and operable condition.

Contacts

Kevin Maas
Facilities Manager
kmaas@eminnetonka.com

952-988-8412

Fleet

This division is responsible for the procurement and maintenance of the city’s motorized fleet as well as support equipment such as pumps, compressors, generators and tools. Currently, the city employs 175 pieces of “rolling stock” that consume 150,000 gallons of fuel annually.

Contacts

Jim Malone
Utility and Fleet Maintenance Manager
jmalone@eminnetonka.com

952-988-8410